Mayoral Candidates Forum: Climate, Environment & Liveability

Forum poster

North Queenslanders are already experiencing dangerous heatwaves, coastal flooding and extreme rainfall events, impacting our safety and way of life. Our native wildlife and beautiful places are also under increasing pressure, from climate impacts, pollution, invasive species, unsustainable development and human interference.

Strong local leadership is needed to ensure that people and nature can thrive together in a changing climate.

Ahead of the March 2024 Townsville City Council election, we want to learn about the approaches our Mayoral Candidates will support to address community concerns and position Townsville as a leader in climate action and livability in the tropics.

Join us on Thursday 29 February 2024 at JCU's Education Central to hear from some guest speakers and Townsville City Council's Mayoral Candidates. Doors open at 5pm for mingling and light refreshments before the forum kicks off at 6pm.

Our guest speakers include Cliff Cobbo from WWF, Prof. Stephen Turton from CQU and Emma Small from Social Workers for Climate Action.Β 

This will be a Q&A style forum, with questions collated prior to the event. If you have a question for the candidates, please post it in the comments section below the RSVP button, or email to [email protected].Β 

If you can't make it along in person, please join us online. A zoom link will be sent to RSVPs prior to the event.

This event has been made possible with the support of Groundswell Giving.Β 

February 29, 2024 at 5:00pm - 7:45pm
Education Central - JCU
Building 134
1 James Cook Drive
Douglas, QLD 4814
Google map and directions
Crystal · · 0406 421 061
Ali Macdiarmid Andrew Chelmers Jai Philpots Kim Ramsden Erin Brown Ann-Maree Greaney Erica Keam Lucy Curtis Margie Ryder Sarah Fooks Jenny Brown Alex McLean Natalie Lindsay David Sewell Paul Jacob Chris Kahler Mary Anderson Kate Annetts Mark Russell Anneke Silver Frank Dallmeyer Dave Dudley Sandra Croaker Connor Gregory Michael Crozier Meredyth Woodward Amaya Hytch Peter Hanley Tamara Inkster-Draper Chris Pam Crystal Falknau Luna Prince Madeline Price

Will you come?

Showing 60 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Sarah Fooks
  • Erin Brown
  • Mark Russell
  • Ali Macdiarmid
  • Madeline Price
  • Luna Prince
  • Crystal Falknau
  • Chris Pam
  • Tamara Inkster-Draper
  • Peter Hanley
  • Michael Crozier
  • Sandra Croaker
  • Dave Dudley
  • Frank Dallmeyer
  • Anneke Silver
  • Chris Kahler
  • Paul Jacob
  • David Sewell
  • Alex McLean
  • Jenny Brown
  • Lucy Curtis
  • Erica Keam
  • Ann-Maree Greaney
  • Jai Philpots
  • Andrew Chelmers
  • Ali Macdiarmid
  • Andrew Chelmers
  • Jai Philpots
  • Kim Ramsden
  • Erin Brown